Buying coins on Ebay = cross your fingers?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by BDT13, Jul 14, 2004.

1. BDT13

BDT13 New Member

Hey everyone,

I just started coin collecting. Silver coins fascinate me .. especially the proof coins they are so gorgeous to look at!

Anyways, I started buying on Ebay because I have noticed prices there can be a bit less than buying from on online coin dealer. BUT .. (and there is always a but, right?) you don't always know what you're gonna get when you go through EBAY.

I had ordered a few coins already, silver eagles, australian lunar series, maple leafs ... everything looked great and as advertised. Got a 2001 Silver eagle today, it has a decent sized scratch on the obverse side, on the flat part of the coin .... grrrrrrr.

Still a pretty coin to look at , but if I ever want to sell this coin one day I would assume this scratch pretty much kills the grade of the coin? Just curious as I'm fairly new to collecting :) I'm not planning on selling anything in the near future, but I might one day. The scratch is on the flat part of the coin, to the right of the figure, right above "in god we trust". Other than that mark the coin looks defect free.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jimmy_goodfella

jimmy_goodfella New Member

it is now worth 2 usd lower than you paid for it assuming you bought it at the usual price of around 8 usd

as its still worth the silver content,and that to be honest is all eagles are worth.

4. mitchell

mitchell Senior Member

I have found that if you google enough, you can find coins from an online dealer at good prices without the bid war or inflated shipping charges.

These guys have a nice selection and free shipping on orders of $50 or more during July. That is just 5 coins. http://www.silver-eagle-coins.com/

I took advantage of it.

Australia has some really nice silver dollars.