Buy raw and get 'em graded, or buy graded???

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Gnomey, May 29, 2014.

1. Gnomey

Gnomey Active Member

Hey all! New member here and I am just getting into buying nice Morgans. I want to have a collection of graded and slabbed Morgans, but I'm wondering if it is better to buy them already slabbed at whatever price they command, or can I get more bang for my bucks taking a chance on raw coins which I intend on sending off for grading. I see some really nice PL Morgans on ebay that are raw, for instance, and it is very tempting to try buying one and getting it graded myself to see if I scored. Is this a dangerous game? Advice from some coin veterans would be much appreciated!! Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Savy

Savy Well-Known Member

Definitely a dangerous game. My advice is always buy graded coins unless you know what you are doing and you see the coin in hand.

geekpryde likes this.
  4. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

Are there really nice raw Morgans? Absolutely, but are there endless supplies of them sitting on ebay for just anyone to snap up, submit, and walk away doing the profit dance? No. Not many like leaving money on the table, and while there may seem to be all these "nice coins" available, many are raw for a reason. Morgans, including the so-called "better dates" are (generally speaking) very common coins, so with little effort you should be able to find most any date/mintmark you want residing comfortably inside a slab. If, sometime down the road when more experienced, you want to try your hand, that's fine, but considering your other thread, doing so now would be a fool's errand.

Morgandude11 likes this.
  5. torontokuba

torontokuba Thread Crapper & Hijacker, TP please.

Buy raw, put 'em in Air-Tites.:jawdrop:

6. MAKECENTS

MAKECENTS Active Member