Burned a Second Time, To Much Hidden in a 2x2!

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Hoky77, Dec 21, 2018.

1. Hoky77

Hoky77 Well-Known Member

I should have learned the lesson the first time,If you don't know dealer ask to remove the coin from the 2x2 even if it is stapled! This example wasn't as pricey as the bent 1858 Canadian Large Cent but it still raised the hackles on my neck. This 1897 IHC was hard to pass up at $14, now I know why it was priced that way.
    IMG_5658.JPG IMG_5656.JPG IMG_5659.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That's art! Hobo Edge! :wacky:

4. Noah Finney

Noah Finney Well-Known Member

That's to bad, I guess some deals are really " to good to be true "

Last edited: Dec 21, 2018
    Hoky77 likes this.
  5. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

an indian head cent with reeding... wouldn't that be a mint error??

Hoky77 likes this.
  6. ewomack

ewomack 魚の下着

Ugh. Yes, those 2 X 2s can hide really miserable surprises. I sadly had a similar experience when I overpaid for a 1944 Walker 50c that looked FANTASTIC in the flip and when I got home and opened it up the rim was covered with dings. I didn't pay too much for it otherwise I would have confronted him, because he had to know that it was overpriced. I have since avoided him when I see his face at coin shows. This hobby does unfortunately have a slimy side.

It would have been nice if the dealer had written "damaged rim" or something on the flip for the IHC. Of course he probably would never sell it with that addition. Ugh.

Hoky77 likes this.
  7. bsting

bsting Never enough coins.lol

Note to self: Never open 2x2!

carly likes this.
  8. Noah Finney

Noah Finney Well-Known Member

My note: Always open 2X2 before purchase or while present with dealer.

Hoky77 likes this.
  9. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I suppose you could just push it into the Dansco and not think about the edge...