Bidding Piracy

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by PMONNEY, May 18, 2017.

1. PMONNEY

PMONNEY Flaminivs

A repetitive strory: sometimes you find at auction a coin you have been looking for a long time. You place a "conservative bid" with a reasonable margin above the highest current bid. On closure of the bidding you are still on top yet, immediately upon closing, the name of another, higher bidder appears !
    Although there are Piracy programs that enable you to have your bid submitted a few minutes before closing, these apply to e-bay, not to private auctions, and not seconds before closing. Is there an unknown Piracy program, applied seconds before closing or is a cunning bidder with his finger on the trigger, ready to beat you seconds before closing ? at the risk place his bid too late to succeed ?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A few minutes? What good is that?
    I never place a bid on anything I want at anytime before the last 8 seconds. There is nothing against that and I have my limits on what I want to pay so 90% of the time I win. This is ebay I am talking about though. About other sites.. I don't know. The other person I guess enters his Max amount and wins the prize.

4. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

Trying to know exactly when the hammer falls in auctions other than eBay is difficult when you cannot see the clock, but I've tried and succeeded numerous times, so I'm quite sure others have as well.

jester3681 likes this.
  5. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

Bidders on eBay often complain that their manual snipe wasn't accepted.
    Their problem generally is that they forget that the internet is NOT instantaneous.
    It's a combination of:
    -- the countdown clock shown on their screen has a slight delay in reaching their computer
    -- it takes an additional time for their bid to get back to eBay.