Best location to hunt

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by Griffinv989, Aug 1, 2015.

1. Griffinv989

Griffinv989 New Member

Hi I am very new to collecting coins and the other day I purchased $10 worth of pennies from the bank. I live in Denver and almost all of the pennies were 2015 D pennies. If this because I live in such close proximity to the Denver mint or is it just the way coin roll hunting goes? Also if location does play a major roll (see what I did there;)), then would it be best to purchase rolls in places such as small towns??? Thank you

Endeavor likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jwitten

jwitten Well-Known Member

Wilderness preserves. Oh wait, we talking coins here?

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Drum roll......Well yes!
    See what I did there ;)

Griffinv989 and Rick Stachowski like this.
  5. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Yes it does, mostly any coins ( 2015 ) you get there will be from Denver ....

6. Griffinv989

Griffinv989 New Member

Haha nope we're talking hunting:)

7. Garrett Haag

Garrett Haag Active Member

I have personally found that you have better luck if you can get the bags from a coin machine at a bank. They normally pan out better, you wont have the sold date issue with them.

NEmike likes this.
  8. pennsteve

pennsteve Well-Known Member

Ask for rolls in older wrappers or rolls that someone brought in to cash in. If they are nice they will ask the other tellers to check too.

9. Doug Rogers

Doug Rogers Member

You may have some luck simply asking for circulated rolls. If the teller has a cooperative spirit, they will try to find them for you. If they are lazy or have a bad attitude, they may not.

10. girldly

girldly Girldly

I found 4 pre 1964 dimes on a parking lot yesterday. Strange, yet, I am happy.

NEmike and NSP like this.
  11. scottishmoney

scottishmoney Buh bye