best lens for coin photography?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by brotherluv, Sep 17, 2011.

1. brotherluv

brotherluv New Member

I was a semi pro photog at one point, having done hundreds of weddings and sporting events, but never got into macro photography too much.

I'm leaning towards a Tamron 90mm Macro.

Any other lens considerstions would be appreciated.

Trying to do this on the cheap.

Currently using a Canon 10d with a old school OM1 film era Zuiko 55mm macro w/adapter.

It works, but I'm finding that 50mm Macro interferes too much with my lighting set up because I'm getting too close to the coin.

Using off camera flash FWIW

Any advice apreciated.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. LindeDad

LindeDad His Walker.

I find the 105mm works well but hate flash.
    I use a Nikon D90 with a older Nikon Nicor manual 105mm for my shots.
    Example:[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

4. ahearn

ahearn Member

I have used a Nikon 300D with a Nikor 105mm 1:2.8G Micro as well as a Canon 500D close-up lens with satisfactory results but, honestly, my relatively inexpensive Casio Exlim with macro capability gives equal or better results and is easier to handle. Most P&S cameras with macro should work well.

Morgan_1900.jpg Morgan_1897.jpg

5. pratt

pratt New Member

I researched macro lenses fairly intensely before settling on the Nikon 60mm f/2.8 Micro. They make the Tamron 90 for Nikon too and I read nothing but good about that lens. I also tested it in the camera store. I settled on the Nikon 60 because I was interested in that focal length for other non-macro purposes as well. I don't think that you can go wrong with the Tamron 90. Good luck!

6. lkeigwin

lkeigwin Well-Known Member

I have a 50mm, 100mm, and 180mm. I use the 180mm almost exclusively. I can bring the lights up quite high and nearly vertical to the coin which is what you want 95% of the time.

The shorter lenses I use for slab shots, or when shooting a group of coins.
    Lance.