Bank coin rolls.

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ERROR HUNTER, Feb 8, 2010.

1. ERROR HUNTER

ERROR HUNTER Coins,Stamps

In a few days I am going to buy rolls from a bank. I have a few questions:

1. What denomination of of coins am I likely to find errors?

2. What is a good way to search the rolls?

3. What denomination of coins are you likely to find old coins such as late 19th century to early 20th century?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mpcusa

mpcusa "Official C.T. TROLL SWEEPER"

Would think pennies based on the number that ive seen on here but
    Its just a guess??

4. conpewter

conpewter Junior Member

I'm new to this as well but your best bet are cents or nickels. Any of the higher denominations have been mostly well searched for silver, so anything before 1964 is for the most part out of circulation.

Nickels are nice but you won't find anything older than 1938 generally, can't say for sure since I've only gone through 10-20 rolls of nickels, I did find a war nickel though (1943).

As for cents, I tend to find a wheat cent every 5th roll or so, earliest I've found is 1920 so far. OTOH years ago (90's) my mom got a flying eagle cent in change from Mcdonalds.

5. manic_mechanic

manic_mechanic Senior Member

Cents make for some serious roll-searchin' fun. A buck gets you two rolls to tear through.....I haven't found anything too dramatic yet, mostly just wheat cents and fodder for the copper stash. I do Kenneday halves too just for fun, as well as nickels. Been at it about 6 months and wheats have been my biggest find thus far.

6. mrz1988

mrz1988 Junior Member

I'd say cents as well. I've searched maybe 1000 rolls and the earliest I've found was a 1910, but there are definitely more early dates out there. People keep huge stashes of pennies lying around in their houses for decades and when they finally return them it adds a good amount of older coins into circulation.