Authenticity of Confederate $10 note ?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by silver surfer, Oct 12, 2010.

1. silver surfer

silver surfer Senior Member

I made a trip to one of the local coin shops this morning to sell some junk silver and buy
    gold.After completing the transaction i noticed several CSA notes in the display case.
    One $10 and one $5 note priced at $35 each so I bought the $10.
    Although i have been collecting US currency for about five yrs this is my first CSA note.
    My question for the CSA note collectors , The paper feels nothing like standard US paper money(old or new),it's thinner or flimsy in comparison,despite being in fairly decent condition also the cut is sloppy
    Is this normal,did they use inferior paper stock to print currency?
    I'm pretty happy with the price and condition (xf no folds)) i just hope i didn't end up with a fake note.
    Since the price was low i decided to take the risk.
    One thing i like about this shop is they will give you your change in old bills,today they
    gave me a crisp Unc 1957 $1 silver cert.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

I have the $5 version, yours looks pretty legit to me. Mines thin & flimsy also.

4. 10gary22

10gary22 Junior Member

Looks better than the fake one I had

5. coinman0456

coinman0456 Coin Collector

NICE NOTE. Looks legit to me as well. Only one pinhole from what I can see.

6. silver surfer

I recall reading something about the Confederate states not having the facilities to produce quality paper currency so they used sub-standard paper and printing equipment.
    It's feels like plain paper without the cloth used in US currency,if this was the best they could produce i can see why the CSA cause was doomed to fail.

7. Daggarjon

Daggarjon Supporter**