Attributing a group lot of Byzantine tetartera! 12th century coinage.

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by BenSi, Mar 26, 2020.

1. BenSi

BenSi Well-Known Member

Since we are all at home or should be I thought I would share with my captive audience a group lot of Byzantine Tetartera that I acquired a few months ago. This is a group lot I have not gone through yet. I will share the process step by step on attributing these coins.

To start, I am not a beginner, I have dealt with tetartera for twenty years. They are small coins, successors the follis. Most Catalogs divide them into two different sizes, the full and the half.

Now this denomination is common, money was abundant in the 12th century especially copper. Tetartera minted in Thessalonica were the low end of the coinage system but one of these coins could have bought you lunch. Not a great lunch, more like a bread and water lunch.

The first tetarteron was created by Alexius I in the coin reform of 1092. The coin was minted in large qualities until the fall of Constantinople to the Crusaders in 1203, they were invited as guests and well the chose not to leave. The coin was minted after 1203 but are much rarer to be found.

This group is in aVF condition, a good mix of full and half tetartera. We have 49 coins in the lot. zzz1.jpg

gogili1977, FitzNigel, TheRed and 8 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BenSi

BenSi Well-Known Member

My first step, divide coins by ruler.

The 12th century had 6 rulers who created the most common tetartera. Alexius I, John II, Manuel, Andronicus, Isaac II and Alexius III. We do have a usurper Isaac of Cyprus who also created tetartera but I really doubt if he will be in this group. This is not a hoard it is a group lot from a German auction and odds are someone took a quick glance that anything super rare would be caught.