Astroid 16 Phsyche - Worth? $10,000 quadrillion!

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by paddyman98, Jan 6, 2021.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

HUBBLE CAPTURES PHOTO OF ASTEROID WORTH 70,000 TIMES THE GLOBAL ECONOMY!

Phsyche 16
    Asteroid_16_Psyche_-47191.jpeg
    The asteroid’s worth is $10,000,000,000,000,000,000
    That’s a lot of zeros, right?

It's made almost entirely from metal instead of rock and ice. Psyche could be unique in that it might be an asteroid that is totally made of iron and nickel.. That's a lot of Nickels that can be minted!

I want to share the following webpage with you -

https://www.diyphotography.net/hubb...steroid-worth-70000-times-the-global-economy/

GH#75, SensibleSal66 and Inspector43 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

However, with that much mineral available I think the market would be diluted to the point that it do very little for the economy.

paddyman98 likes this.
  4. Parthicus

Parthicus Well-Known Member

I see two problems with this valuation:

1. Metals (or any other commodity) are only worth something if you can get to them and move them to where you will use them. Spaceflight is enormously expensive, and even if Elon Musk or someone else manages to reduce the cost substantially, it's still going to be a difficult and dangerous endeavor.

2. If that much metal suddenly entered the economy, the value would crash, for obvious supply-and-demand reasons.

There are already mind-bogglingly enormous quantities of metals right here on Earth, but buried so deep that there's no way we can get to it. This asteroid is interesting scientifically, and may be worth sending a probe to visit, but I wouldn't get your hopes up for economically-viable asteroid mining just yet.

GH#75, Inspector43, -jeffB and 2 others like this.
  5. Sidney Osborne