As Caesar?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by savitale, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. savitale

    savitale Active Member

    I found a nice coin that looks like it will fit into my newly-started set of Roman Emperors. But, I am hesitating because it is an "as Caesar" example instead of an augustus example. How do you feel, do "as Caesar" coins count? Or would including such a coin be cheating a bit in a Roman Emperor collection?
     
    Evan Saltis likes this.
  2. Avatar

    Guest User Guest



    to hide this ad.
  3. Cucumbor

    Cucumbor Dombes collector Supporter

    Do you like the coin ?
    If the answer is "yes", then the coin belongs in your collection !

    That's how it works for me at least
    Q
     
  4. svessien

    svessien Senior Member Supporter

    Nah, it’s not cheating. If your goal is to have only augustus coins, then you’re cheating yourself.

    Some times coins as Caesar are rarer than as Augustus. Other times it’s the other way around.
    I think Q’s right: If you like the coin, it defends a place in your collection.
     
  5. John Conduitt

    John Conduitt Well-Known Member

    There are no rules, but since you're asking the question, it seems in the back of your mind you think it's cheating. If you're anything like me, that means you'll get this one, but still be on the hunt for the Augustus.

    Then you'll have both Caesar and Augustus. But only for this emperor. So now you need Caesar and Augustus for the other emperors...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page