Anything i can or should do about cleaning these up?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by DISDIK, Jul 20, 2020.

1. DISDIK

DISDIK Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

just worth junk silver.

Endeavor likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Baking soda. Rub it in and in then rinse with water and in a few seconds they will shine it up beautifully!

DISDIK likes this.
  5. DISDIK

DISDIK Member

Ty paddyman98 and this would take no original luster from it?

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It ain't gonna add any luster, either! ~ Chris

Kentucky likes this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is how I have been cleaning up all my silver US Coins I have metal detected within the past 4 months.. All of these -
    20200719_074957(1).jpg

DISDIK likes this.
  8. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

OP, acetone is always a go to, (at least it will never hurt silver). Practice on these, and rinse with distilled water after. May not do anything, but always safe so at least will not do any harm.

Since they are silver, coin dip would probably clean them. Something like the kennedy, being a bullion item, is a good way to learn. Read the instructions, and start with short dips. The goal is to clean the coin with the least amount of time spent in the chemical.

DISDIK likes this.
  9. DISDIK

DISDIK Member

Awesome feedback ty both...so say i get that 1922 cleared from that orange crap on it ....auction worthy?

10. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

They are only worth junk silver value.

11. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

On some of my less valuables I use the Silver Jewelry dip from Walmart. A few seconds and they come out very nice.

12. Incharge

Incharge Active Member

Try using a soft brush and some soap ..

13. Endeavor