Any Tips for Taking Better Photos of Coins?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by *coins, Apr 12, 2018.

1. *coins

*coins Well-Known Member

I've always struggled with taking photos of coins. I have a Nikon D3100 w/18-55mm lens that I am using because it takes better photos than my cheap digital camera. Here is a photo of a 1979 SBA dollar. Any tips for how this could be better?
    [​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Do you have a cellphone? I have an iphone 6 and it takes great pictures. Perhaps you should give yours a try.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes.. Try a dark background. Black is best.

Bud1 Wilson, Two Dogs and JCro57 like this.
  5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

What are you using for a light source?

Chris

6. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

While equipment can certainly play a part, in photography the quality of the results have more to do with the photographer. There have been many past threads on this subject that may be of interest to you and are certainly worth searching out.

In the meantime, exactly what do you wish to accomplish with your coin photography? Detailed closeups, quality whole-coin shots, or...?

7. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

8. *coins

*coins Well-Known Member

Sorry, I thought I had missed something. I would like to take close-ups better. An example would be of the mintmark of a 1981-S type 2 dollar coin.

LA_Geezer likes this.
  9. BooksB4Coins

You've never shot coins with film, Kurt?

10. V. Kurt Bellman

Only several hundred Kodachrome slides. But not this Daylight 64 stuff. I used the Type A 40 speed emulsion.

Alas, Kodachrome has ceased to exist. Take THAT, Paul Simon.

ominus1 likes this.
  11. BooksB4Coins

Give it a few more years and maybe Nikon will give old Paul a double whammy. ;)

12. BooksB4Coins