Any Recommendations or Advice?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Good Cents, Nov 15, 2019.

1. Good Cents

Good Cents Well-Known Member

I'm relatively new to coin collecting and bullion (2+ years). I know they are 2 completely different things. I actually got into coin collecting after getting into bullion investing and by doing lots and lots of reading on this board (as a novice, I've done more lurking than commenting). The bullion interest brought out the natural collector in me and I'm enjoying my coin collecting a lot. (And as an added bonus it's an outlet for some OCD tendencies ;).)

Now I am considering investing in graded numismatic coins. (I already put as much as I'm comfortable with into PM bullion.)

I have about $10k give or take for this investment, which for me is a serious amount of money that I cannot afford to lose. Yes, I know they say not to invest money you can't afford to lose, but that's for the stock market. Does the same caution exist when talking about investing in graded numismatics?

I would imagine there are "safe" numismatic investments and "volatile" ones such as trends. In terms of length of holding time I am looking at about 10-20 years with 25-30 years tops. And I'm not necessarily looking for appreciation. I just want something that would keep up with inflation because cash loses value at today's interest rates.

The problem is, I know VERY little about numismatics as I'm a novice collector. Also, the little I have learned is only about small time numismatic items that interest me (mostly about $40 - $140 per coin with up to $200 max for something extra special).

So, I don't know where to start and would really appreciate your recommendations and advice.

LA_Geezer likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Best Answer
    Here's why coins are a terrible investment.