Any ideas on MS70 coin cleaner?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Idries Pappas, Jun 17, 2018.

1. Idries Pappas

Idries Pappas Well-Known Member

I am considering buying MS70 coin cleaner for some dirty coins, coins with PVC damage, and coins with tarnished reverses from an old cardboard holder and I'm wondering if anybody knows how it works or if it's safe. Any ideas?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Every coin is different. Some can be helped. MS70 is a good product but may not be best on some coins. I'm not really good at searching this site but there are some really good threads here on the topic.
    Welcome to CT.

4. jtlee321

jtlee321 Well-Known Member

I use MS-70, but only on select coins. I never use it on copper and the silver coins I use it on have no toning. I will use it only on uncirculated or high AU silver coins and typically only ones with a bit of haze or gunk on them. If it has PVC, you want to soak it in acetone first.

coinzip likes this.
  5. serafino

serafino Well-Known Member

I agree that you should first try Acetone on your silver coins for PVC.

V. Kurt Bellman likes this.
  6. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

MS70 is good for removing light haze or staining, and it's good for silver sliders. You do not want to use MS70 on a dirty or contaminated coin - that's not what the product is for.

For dirt removal you want to soak in distilled water, and for PVC residue you want to soak in acetone.

7. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

MS70 is a great product - for certain things ! But only those things. If you are a collector of modern coins, and that is to be read as clad coins, it works great to remove haze from modern Proofs and make them look their best. It has a similar but to a slightly lesser degree of effect on modern business strikes.