Any good books with action happening in ancient times?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by ambr0zie, Dec 31, 2020.

1. ambr0zie

ambr0zie Dacian Taraboste

Hello ladies and gentlemen,
    I would like to ask you about your favorite books, having the action set in antiquity, and perhaps recommend some.
    If I remember correctly, the only one I started reading (and apparently lost the book itself) was Raffaello Giovagnoli's Spartacus (Spartaco).
    It was many years ago, for some reason I didn't finish it but I can't remember if I liked it or not.

I see Giovagnoli wrote a series of historical novels set in ancient Rome.

I would like something set in Roman Empire or Greece.

It can lack scientific/historical accuracy - but not 100% - for example I started learning about French history after reading some Dumas and Zevaco novels, of course they are 90% fiction but they are based on historical events.

robinjojo, IanG and Stevearino like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. David Atherton

David Atherton Flavian Fanatic

Pompeii by Robert Harris is both enthralling and historically accurate. IMHO, one of the best novels set in ancient Rome.

Imperial Governor by George Shipway concerning the Boudiccan revolt is superb.

The classic I Claudius by Robert Graves is not to be missed as well.

DonnaML, robinjojo, Cicero12 and 5 others like this.
  4. Parthicus

Parthicus Well-Known Member

JulesUK, Stevearino, IanG and 2 others like this.
  5. Orielensis

Orielensis Well-Known Member

+1. This thread contains a lot of good recommendations.

Personally, I can recommend the Roma Sub Rosa series by Steven Saylor. You can think of these as Raymond-Chandler-style detective novels set in the late Roman Republic, written by a trained classicist with remarkable literary talent. They make for a gripping read and are at the same time well-researched and considerably more clever than your typical "historical novel."