Antoninianus Victorinus Rev Pax ?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by ChasPay, Mar 29, 2017.

1. ChasPay

ChasPay Active Member

I think I got this coin confused with another. But I am not sure since I am new to ancient coins so I figured I'd ask for a little help. My eyes are getting tired of staring at different websites and pictures.

50 front new close.jpg 50 rear new close.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. zumbly

zumbly Ha'ina 'ia mai ana ka puana

Victorinus with Pax reverse is right. What about the coin has you doubting your reading of it?

Mikey Zee and dougsmit like this.
  4. dougsmit

dougsmit Member

Not only is it correctly identified but this is a rather nice example of the coin. So often we are asked to ID scraps of metal with no details. This is a pleasure. What other coin was causing the confusion?

5. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

6. ChasPay

ChasPay Active Member

I had been staring at coins all night. Thanks for the help. I was getting it confused with these two. It was 4 or 5 in the morning and my eyes needed a break. 51 rear new close.jpg 49 rear close.jpg

Bing likes this.
  7. Smojo

Smojo dreamliner

Yours is nice @ChasPay
    This is as close as I can get you as far as my collection goes.
    RIC V(6) 116
    Victorinus-Pax [MBBH].jpg

8. Smojo

Smojo dreamliner

A full attribute for ya
    Obv. IMP C VICTORINVS PF AVG
    Radiate draped and cuirassed bust right
    Rev. PAX AVG
    Pax standing left holding olive branch and scepter.
    V and star in fields
    RIC V6 116

9. ChasPay

ChasPay Active Member

Thanks for the help, I really do appreciate it. Saves me a lot of time and eye strain.

10. ChasPay

ChasPay Active Member