(Another) Star Note Question

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Skippy Topaz, Feb 20, 2019.

1. Skippy Topaz

Skippy Topaz PAPERBOY

Been organizing my Star Notes lately (I just save them whenever I find them) and now just have too many of them...

So my question is... Which would be the better notes to hang on to, the Low Print-Run Star Notes (from 128k up to 640k Runs) regardless of condition or the High Print-Run notes (1-3 million etc) that are in perfect condition?

My instinct would be to hang on to the lower print runs (even if they're kinda worn) and just spend the higher run ones (though I might hang on to an older note from the 80's etc even if it's a high print-run) but not sure which would be more prudent

Anyway...just trying to reduce the collection and can't decide :-/

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Searcher64

Searcher64 Member

I keep all, because today they are of a high run, but how many will survive? I have been collecting since about 1993. That's when I noticed the "Web Press Notes". Then later I found a 1928 Gold Cert $100.00 from my local bank. Later found many new star notes over time. So I now have many "Stars" From Silver cert, Federal Cert, National Bank Notes, and a North African war note. On the Web Notes I could not find the only Star note and did not buy it either.

4. Skippy Topaz

Skippy Topaz PAPERBOY

Well, I don't want to keep them all because I'm not sure it makes sense to have $100 Star Notes sitting in a drawer if they'll never really be worth more than face value so I'm trying to decide if I should keep the higher denomination notes in great condition or the lower print run notes even in low grade

5. Skippy Topaz

Skippy Topaz PAPERBOY