[ancients] Some beautiful coins I hadn't seen before

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by TIF, Jan 9, 2014.

1. TIF

TIF Always learning.

I'm new to ancients and obviously haven't seen everything, but occasionally while browsing I stumble upon something 'new' that takes my breath away. Such coins are almost always out of my financial reach but that doesn't lessen the enjoyment. Below are some examples.

Feel free to post your unexpected delights here :)

Currently for sale in CNG's coin shop:

http://www.cngcoins.com/Coin.aspx?CoinID=250515
    [​IMG]
    "ARKADIA, Stymphalos. Circa 350 BC. Stater (Silver, 24mm, 12.04 g 8). Laureate head of Artemis to right, wearing a rosette and crescent earring from which hang five pendants, a necklace of pearls, and with her hair tied in a bun at the back. Rev. ΣΤΥΜΦΑΛΙΩΝ Herakles, nude but for his lionskin wrapped around his left arm, striding to left and preparing to strike with his club held over his head with his right hand; between his legs, ΣΟ. BCD Peloponnesos 1705. BMFA 1269. Gulbenkian 560. Kraay/Hirmer 514. Extremely rare. A superb piece, beautifully toned and very probably the finest known example. Some very minor traces of corrosion, otherwise, good extremely fine.

From the ‘Outstanding Collection’, Leu 81, 16 May 2001, 226 and from the Argos Hoard of 1966 (IGCH 130).