[ancients] Quintillus confusion

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by TIF, Mar 29, 2014.

1. TIF

TIF Always learning.

This one was vexing since I'm not very experienced with Roman Imperials. It's from a mixed lot (Goldberg, Sept. 2013), many of which I never got around to identifying.

During the initial sorting and labeling I marked it as Quintillus; the "...ILLVS..." made it pretty easy (plus the portrait looks like Quintillus).

Tonight I was taking pictures and trying to attribute it and was stumped by the rest of the readable legend: "...ILLVS IIII C". Huh? It should read "...ILLVS AVG".

My RIC resources are limited to free online sites. After going through ERIC, Wildwinds, V-coins, CNG, and MA-Shops it finally occurred to me that the "IIII C" might just be a deconstructed/poorly rendered AVG. Is that the case? The reverse has a similarly bungled legend.

It's a nice enough portrait. Weak reverse, centering issues, and there's a hard lump of verdigris in his crown, but apparently most of his have an assortment of these problems.

QuintillusVictoriaAvg-RIC-Vi-33-Med.jpg

Quintillus antoninianus
    270 AD

Rome mint, 3rd officina
    Obv: IMP C M AVR CL QVINTILLVS AVG; radiate draped bust right
    Rev: VICTORIA AVG; Victory walking right, holding wreath and palm; Γ in right field
    Ref: RIC Vi 33; Cohen 70

Last edited: Mar 29, 2014
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Whizb4ng

Whizb4ng HIC SVNT DRACONES

I have seen a lot of coins from this time period as IIIIG edit: with multiple I's in stead of other letters.. My Gallienus has it on the N and V

[​IMG] [​IMG]

chrsmat71, vlaha, stevex6 and 2 others like this.
  4. Bing

Bing Illegitimi non carborundum Supporter

I think you have the right of it TIF. BTW, nice portrait.

TIF likes this.
  5. randygeki

randygeki Coin Collector

Nice portrait!

TIF likes this.
  6. TJC

TJC Well-Known Member

I agree, great Quintillus portrait!

I bet "I"s are easier to die cut than other letters.