Ancient- Rare Sassanid Dirham...I'd Buy That!

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Ancientnoob, Sep 15, 2013.

1. Ancientnoob

Ancientnoob Money Changer

Ha I spotted this coin described as a rare Sassanid Dirham of an unknown king, and how I always wanted one of those. :rolleyes:

Having developed a fondness for Sassanid Persia and recognizing the dealers expertise in the coins, I felt confident in the purchase. :D

I am not an expert but I am also not a ...noob...

All I can say is that this coin is NOT a Sassanid Dirham...but I am ok with that...

Parthia,
    Mithradates I (177-138/2BC)
    AR Drachm 20 mm x 3.79 grams
    Nisa Mint?
    Obverse: Beardless bust left wearing bashlyk.
    Reverse: Bearless archer wearing a cloak seated on am omphalos right holding a bow in his right hand Greek Legend- BASILEWS MEGALOY ARSAKOY
    ref; Sellwood 10.4 ; Shore 16.

I am unsure of the exact reference. I read there should be a Seleucid date in exergue on the reverse, this might be worn/ off flan or non existent. (OP, 143/2 BC) Looks very similar to Sellwood 10.4.

So if any experts want to step up and school me on this haha...Sassanid...haha... I would much appreciate it.

MithradatesI144-132BC.jpg

Windchild, medoraman, stevex6 and 2 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TIF

TIF Always learning.

That reminds me, yesterday while scouring upcoming auctions I saw something I thought you must buy. Dang if I remember what it was. Hope I bookmarked it, I wanted to show it to you.

Ancientnoob likes this.
  4. Eng

Eng Senior Eng

Noob your not an expert yet, but your well on your way my friend, super cool coin...:)

Ancientnoob likes this.
  5. Ancientnoob

Remember TIF!

Eng- Thanks, your encouragement is always appreciated, and means a lot, my coin bro.

6. stevex6

stevex6 Random Mayhem

Ooow, sweet => cool new coin, Knob ... curious, how many of these babies do you have?