Ancient Grads to trust on Ebay??

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Molon Labe, Nov 24, 2020.

1. Molon Labe

Molon Labe Active Member

So I like nice things and like others I will pay premium for it. I'm new to ancient coins and willing to buy the best. Searching ebay I want graded coins. What grade company is trustworthy to buy from?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. RichardT

RichardT Well-Known Member

Ebay is not the best venue to buy ancients. Graded ancients offered for sale there at fixed prices are very overpriced.

But to answer your question, NGC grading and encapsulation is generally trustworthy. Reason being they have experts examining the ancients they grade.

Ryro, DonnaML, Sulla80 and 1 other person like this.
  4. cwart

cwart Senior Member Supporter

I'm still fairly new to ancients, and am far from buying the best, but one of the things I like most about them is that for the most part they aren't graded. Unlike moderns where its all about the grade, for most with ancients its more about the history the coin represents. The exception seems to be high end ones where the authentication of the coin is important. I still collect and enjoy modern coins as well, its just two different worlds.

5. gsimonel

gsimonel Well-Known Member

Here's a good alternative to eBay for beginning collectors of ancient coins: VCoins. Prices tend to be higher than eBay, but the dealers are more reputable, although a couple seem to be wildly overpriced. A nice function of their search engine is that you can list coins in order of price, going from low to high, so you can avoid dealers who charge way too much.

6. Clavdivs

Clavdivs Well-Known Member

Perhaps a high roller like yourself would not be interested in the beginners FAQ thread that features a section on recommended sellers? But here it is anyway....

https://www.cointalk.com/threads/ancient-coins-beginners’-faq-thread.324858/

Justin Lee likes this.
  7. Nvb

Nvb Well-Known Member