ANACS On Site

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Randy Abercrombie, Apr 23, 2024.

1. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

I am going to a local coin show in a few weeks that advertises ANACS will be on site for grading services. I have a few that I plan to take with me.... I have never used an on-site grading service before. Is the deal that literal? Do they grade and slab on the floor while I am shopping for other coins that need a loving home?

Inspector43 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

I ran into that one time at a local show in Houston. The reps spent all their time visiting with their regular customers and never paid any attention to the mine run attendees. Good luck Randy.

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  4. Randy Abercrombie

Thanks Inspector. That is useful info.

Inspector43 likes this.
  5. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

They do not, at least at the local shows where I've seen them in attendance. The only advantages:
    • No shipping/insurance fee to get it to them (you still have to pay return P&I).
    • There's usually a show special price, although it's typically not better than online offers, and usually doesn't apply to gold or higher-value coins ($300 limit, I think?)
    • The ANACS rep can give you an "unofficial" opinion on whether a coin's worth submitting (the one time I relied on this, though, the rep turned out to be wrong).
    And yes, the wait for your turn can get kind of long.

They used to come only for the big June show here, but now they've started attending some of the smaller ones as well. I no longer pay any attention to them. The CoinTalk ICG special is superior IMHO (better per-coin price, no limit on coin value).

Last edited: Apr 23, 2024
  6. Randy Abercrombie

That makes sense. Thanks, Jeff.

Inspector43 likes this.
  7. Randy Abercrombie