An engraving/polishing tool struck through? '65 Washington Quarter

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Vegasnay, Jul 25, 2017.

1. Vegasnay

Vegasnay Active Member

IMG_4839.JPG At first I thought it was pmd but as I got it under a microscope I'm fully convinced it's something struck through the NIT of UNITED on reverse. Is anyone familiar with the types of tools used in engraving at the mint? I don't have my ruler handy but I'd say it's 2-3 mm long. Any guesses to what it is? Oh & what makes that 'stretched' look on the coin? I know orange peel is a worn die but would that also cause this leathery look? (Last photo)
    IMG_4854.JPG IMG_4869.JPG IMG_4864.JPG IMG_4870.JPG
    IMG_4751.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

They don't engrave the coin itself but the Die that is used to strike the blank Quarter Planchet. If that area the Die was incused then the area in question on your Quarter would be raised not incused.

There are Strike Through errors. That is when a foreign object gets struck on the Blank Planchet when it is being struck. The object could be struck into the coin or fall off.

Vegasnay likes this.
  4. Vegasnay

Vegasnay Active Member

Hey Paddyman! I understand about engraving the die & not the coin, of course they don't engrave every coin. I'm just trying to understand how something in between the coin & the die would leave a raised mark. Maybe you got confused when I said it was an engraving tool...I didn't mean it happened during the engraving process, I'm just trying to figure out what the object looks like. The one thing that fits (maybe) is the tip of a small engraving tool..or a really tiny drill bit lol.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
  5. paddyman98

Yes I am confused. Because you overthought the issue you see. It's very simple