Am I wasting my time keeping $1 sequential serial #'s?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by CE2017, Aug 8, 2017.

1. CE2017

CE2017 New Member

HI, I just joined because I couldn't find an answer to this question online; then I came across this forum so I'm hoping someone here will help me. I'm new to collecting as of this year.
    Regarding my saved consecutive serial numbers so far, all of them are uncirculated & are $1 bills dated 2013. The lowest run has only 2 in a row, while the largest run has 25 in a row. None of them are fancy serial #'s like binary or radars etc. Am I wasting my time keeping these or could they be more valuable than face value? In other words just how many sequential numbers make saving them necessary for possibly becoming more valuable?
    I need to know because an emergency has come up & I have to dip into my collection to correct my situation. Thank you.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Blissskr

Blissskr Well-Known Member

I'd say it's probably safe to spend them if there's nothing special about them as I don't think they'll ever have a premium (within a time frame relative to making it worth the opportunity cost of holding them). It's pretty easy to get modern sequential uncirculated bills just take look at how many you can get sequential on Ebay for very little premium over face.

4. CE2017

CE2017 New Member

Thanks for your reply. Can you tell me then how many sequential numbers will it take for any extra value? Would I need a unbroken pack, or are they called bricks?

5. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

In my opinion, I don't think there is a significant premium for common Series 2013 sequential notes, regardless of the number. If you looked hard, maybe you could find someone willing to pay a small premium, or mess around selling on ebay, but I don't think there is a ready market willing to pay a premium for current federal reserve notes.