ALUMINUM PENNY 1974 vs. NON-COPPER PENNY 1972-Denver Mint

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by girldly, Apr 21, 2015.

1. girldly

girldly Girldly

CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT OTHER COINS WERE MADE AT THE DENVER MINT THAT MAY CONTAIN ELEMENTS OTHER THAN COPPER (LIKE THE PENNY) from 1970 - 1974? Or, can it be researched somehow...and I don't mean on-line (no luck there)...when a penny is NOT COATED, and the color of silver is revealed by a scratch, how do I know what that penny was made from? I weighed it, its less than a regular copper penny, and its magnetic enough to attach to a cheap magnet. However, it is a penny from 1972, not 1974. My thinking is that it went thru on another planchet. Any help or ideas would be appreciated. I am new to this, I guess that is obvious! But please be kind, and I really do appreciate sincere help.

NEWS TODAY: I TOOK MY PENNY INTO A PCG MEMBER AND HE AUTHENTICATED IT AS A TRUE PENNY. HE SAID SEND IT IN IMMEDIATLEY...AND LET'S FIND OUT what it is made of.
    He quickly offered to help me sell this coin...he is very kind. However, this new find needs answers such as what is its composition? What elements does it contain? He said he likes PCGS, BUT, he said NCG are also good. Will these companies list the elements the coin contains? Who should I send it to?
    PROVENANCE: The provenance behind this penny is quite a story. It has been in my husbands grade school milk carton (along with all his special items as a kid, like a plastic army man, beads, part of a dollar, shell casings from his dad getting a turkey, rocks, and this penny. There is more to this story....when my father passed away in 2008, I inherited his coin collection.