Advice on liberty head quarter eagle purchase

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by detectorben, Sep 4, 2018.

1. detectorben

detectorben Member

Need some advice from experts here on what quarter eagle to purchase.

I am a complete newb when it comes to coin collecting. I only collect coins I find metal detecting to this point. My ultimate goal has always been to find a gold coin while detecting but as many know this is a rare once in a lifetime(maybe) find. My alternate plan has been to save all clad coins found detecting and cash them in to buy a gold coin. So as of right now I have just over $400 in clad to cash in.

So my question to all of you is...what is a good price for a certified liberty head quarter eagle? What things do I need to look for or stay away from? I want something certified in a holder but that is all I know so far. What grade or details etc should I look for or stay away from? Any input or advice you all may have would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

MikeinWyo likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Certified is nice, but graded is not really necessary. If you buy from one of the major dealers in the USA, the chances of getting a fake is minimal. Look at Provident, MCM or some of the others.

4. Kentucky

Randy Abercrombie and 1916D10C like this.
  5. Santinidollar

Santinidollar Supporter! Supporter

MikeinWyo, Kentucky and 1916D10C like this.
  6. 1916D10C

1916D10C Key Date Mercs are Life! 1916-D/1921-D/1921

That’s a great strategy to save all your clad you find for free and buy a coin you really want!

Oldhoopster likes this.
  7. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

If I might suggest, if the coin itself doesn't matter and you just want a Liberty head gold coin, could I suggest the half eagle instead. Price is just about the same, but you get twice as much gold that way plus a larger more impressive coin.

Kentucky likes this.
  8. detectorben

detectorben Member