Advice about non-receipt of coins from online dealer

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by oldwormwood, Oct 1, 2016.

1. oldwormwood

oldwormwood Collector

I am hoping that I can get some advice on how my school should best handle a situation with an online coin dealer.

I am an elementary school teacher who started a coin-collecting club for my students last fall. We were able to purchase the supplies through a grant I received from a local charitable organization, and the money from this grant paid for the coins, flips, and storage boxes for the students. We had twenty students participate in last year's club, and each student in the club ended up taking home about 100 world coins, flips, a storage box, and I think, an appreciation of numismatics. They really were thrilled with the experience and with the interesting coins that they got to keep.

This past April, I was happy to hear that I received another grant to continue the coin-collecting club. I decided to purchase this year’s coins through another coin dealer because the last lot of coins (25 pounds for $300) that we purchased had many modern duplicate coins and little geographic diversity (one of the goals of the club is to teach students about other countries through coinage). So, I looked on eBay and found a world coin dealer who specializes in country and region specific coins. The dealer is ranked on eBay as a “Top Seller”, and has over 99.9% feedback based on over 13,000 reviews. So, I thought I would contact him to ask if he could provide us with the coins for this year’s club.