Acetone Questions.

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by dctjr80, Feb 17, 2010.

1. dctjr80

dctjr80 Senior Member

I am still new to coin collecting and all the talk of Acetone baths has caught my attention. Will the Coin Grading companies still grade a coin that has had an acetone bath? Is there a thread here on CoinTalk that illustrates the complete instructions of doing this procedure completely and safely? If a Mint state coin has PVC damage or dirt will this procedure harm the coin or damage it's luster from the bath? Do you need to wear a respirator while using 100% Acetone and would the swirling a coin in the acetone cause any damage to a coin?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Yes.

About 20 or 30 of them. But I'll repeat -

Get 4 glass bowls about 1/4" of acetone in each of first 3. Now if the coin is heavily contaminated, hold off on the second 2 and soak the coin in the first overnight. Then dip the coin in the 2nd 3 or 4 times. Then dip the coin in the 3rd 3 or 4 times. The last bowl has distilled water in it,rinse the coin in the water, then stand it up, on edge on a towel with it leaning against the backsplash on your counter and let it air dry.

No. But the PVC may have already done damage. If it has, there is no fixing it, you can only stop it from getting worse.

No. But it is wise to do it in a well ventilated area. And no sparks or flames - the fumes are explosive if allowed to accumulate. And the fluid is very flamable itself.

4. Just Carl

Just Carl Numismatist

Not true. I'd say about 200 or 300 of them.:)
    And maybe more if you try other similar topics such as
    Coin cleaning, cleaning coins, Acetone, cleaning materials and on and on and on.
    Still always ask since at times so many new people have not seen nor may not even knoww how to search for topics.
    Probably need some standard topics that remain in one header place.