Acetone bath

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Seattlite86, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I have a few buffalo nickels soaking in pure acetone before I put them in 2x2s. That’s about 12 hours facing up, now 12 hours facing down. They’ll go into distilled water next. Should I gently use a q-tip on the nicer ones with little gunk on them, or just leave on whatever the acetone doesn’t eat off? Some of them felt a touch slimy when I was flipping them over (into a new bath of acetone). I’ll post final photos when I pull them out for good.

8F73E7F5-F385-4301-8B32-8F148FF6ACF0.jpeg 873D4748-6933-44C9-B087-B951DD6C67E4.jpeg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Looks like a V Nickel snuck in there also :watching:

Seattlite86 and I_like_Morgans like this.
  4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

For whatever it's worth acetone typically does a poor job of removing ordinary dirt and grime - which is what is found on most circulated coins. Long soaks in distilled water usually does a better job.

And though I would usually advise against it as a general rule, given the the condition of the coins in question you're not really going to hurt anything by using a Q-tip to help remove gunk.

5. Amos 811

Amos 811 DisMember

I also use a wet tooth pick, wet so its soft.

Seattlite86 and tibor like this.
  6. halfcent1793

halfcent1793 Well-Known Member

Acetone dissolves grease and so helps remove dirt. Unfortunately, it leaves the surface of the coin completely open to the atmosphere, your breath when you exhale, dust specks, etc. Unless you protect the coins with some kind of oil after the soak, they WILL corrode.

Seattlite86 likes this.
  7. bear32211

bear32211 Always Learning

A long soak, please define "long soak" ?

Aunduril and Seattlite86 like this.
  8. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator