Abnormal quarter

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by walktheline91, May 11, 2017.

1. walktheline91

walktheline91 New Member

Hello, I was wondering aboit how much a quarter like this is worth. It looks like it was mis-stamped or something. Post 1965 since it isn't silver. Thanks!

Attached Files:

SavageFountain likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. JAY-AR

JAY-AR Well-Known Member

Nice! I'm not an expert on CUD, but sure looks like a butt load of CUD to me. Great find and welcome to CT. I couldn't tell you what it's worth, but hang on and someone here will for sure get you an answer.

4. SchwaVB57

SchwaVB57 Well-Known Member

I thought cud as well, but the strike on the reverse makes me wonder?

5. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

excellent, and yes, it is a cud.

rev:
    weak area opposite a large cud is normal.
    The one thru UNITED could be the start of a large die crack that hasn't turned into a cud, where the die piece falls off.

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. JAY-AR

JAY-AR Well-Known Member

Pretty funky lookin coin, I wonder on the rev above PLURBUS is a strike thru? The upper left side of the rev looks like lamination? Bad Planchet? Very cool!

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It is a nice example of a cud on the obverse, but I would like to see a better close-up of the reverse between 9 & 12 o'clock.

Chris

PS. Silver quarters ended in 1964, not 1965.

8. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Every day we get several people starting threads with obviously manipulated or damaged coins, and they're sure they're mint errors.

This isn't one of those threads. :)

Cool find, and welcome to CoinTalk!

9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

@walktheline91
    Marvelous Die Break! CUD for sure!
    $20.00 - $30.00 IMHO :woot:

10. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

cool cud find. :cat:

11. walktheline91

walktheline91 New Member