A STUNNER! Gordian III Dupondius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Blake Davis, Dec 7, 2020.

1. Blake Davis

Blake Davis Well-Known Member

DSCN7792 (2).JPG DSCN7791 (2).JPG

Gordian III Dupondius RIC 300(c)
    9.71 Grams 26mm
    Obverse Inscription: IMP GORDIANUS PIUS FEL AVG
    Reverse Inscription: LAETITIA AVGN

This article continues with selected coins from my collection, which I have been working on for over 20 years. It has been a labor of love - lots of time and effort. Although I limit it to sestertii, I do have a few minor bronzes. And I have always like dupondii - I like the way the celators are able to show the details of the hair under the crown - Flavian dupondii are particularly beautiful as are the dupondii of others - Hadrian, Trajan, Severus Alexander - heck they are all nice!

The opportunity to buy this coin came along about a decade or so so ago and I jumped on it - the portrait is incredible and the flat strike on the reverse just doesn't take anything way from the beauty of the brown patina.

I am again pressed for time but would love to hear from those who know more about the coins of Gordian III - especially what the "N" is in the inscription. Tomorrow I will put up a very unusual unlisted sestertius of my second favorite emperor - Marcus Aurelius.

BenSi, robinjojo, Spargrodan and 43 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. seth77

seth77 Well-Known Member

Usually AVG N means Augustus noster.

4. curtislclay

curtislclay Well-Known Member

Indeed, Laetitia Augusti Nostri, the Joy of Our Emperor.

Not only great condition, but a rare dupondius too: only five specimens recorded by Rodger Bland in the major public collections.

5. Roman Collector

Roman Collector Well-Known Member

6. OutsiderSubtype

OutsiderSubtype Well-Known Member

Nice portrait and I love the sharp legends.

7. Blake Davis

It came from a seller from whom I have bought coins from for many years and was partly a gift I think.