A snack present - Vespasian fourree from Caesarea?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by ambr0zie, Apr 18, 2021.

1. ambr0zie

ambr0zie Dacian Taraboste

Hello ladies and gentlemen,
    A relative decided to surprise me for Easter (I am Orthodox so Easter is later for us) in a pleasant way. He is not a collector but he is interested in my collection and Roman history. He knows the emperors I like and what coins I have, so he won this for me and I am waiting for it along with a Julia Domna Venus Victr denarius he heard me talking about (he can't keep a secret :D)
    [​IMG]
    A hemidrachm from Caesarea from Vespasian, in a decent condition.

What I find I little intriguing are the brown color shapes, at Victory's legs and on the obverse lettering. Could that be signs that the coin is a fourree? Or is it the alloy?
    I am not experienced at all in fourrees or Caesarea coins.

I did a quick search and I couldn't find fourrees from Caesarea but I know this is not a rule.
    I know for sure that he got this from a recent auction and he didn't chose the cheapest one.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. David Atherton

David Atherton Flavian Fanatic

It's not a fourrée. Typical style and strike for the issue. What you are seeing are deposits that were not cleaned off.

These hemidrachms were struck with debased silver, so not likely worth a forger's time.

4. ambr0zie

Thank you, @David Atherton .
    I only have 3 denarii from Vespasian (2 of them same type) and I like his portraits a lot.
    As a personal taste, I prefer genuine coins. I know fourrees have their clear numismatic value but I am happy with your analysis, especially since this coin is in your area :)

David Atherton likes this.
  5. Ryro

Ryro Trying to remove supporter status

Cool new Vespasian! And you must share the Domna Venus vixen when it arrives.:pompous:
    Here's a Vespy Nemesis with some dirt on it that I won't clean off: