A perfect example of bureaucratic ignorance - swastica on ancient coin

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Numismat, Aug 28, 2016.

1. Numismat

Numismat World coin enthusiast

TIF and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

Ignorance, indeed.

It would be interesting to collect non-Nazi related items having swastikas on them though. I thought the Coke sign and the playing cards shown in the article were particularly cool looking.

spirityoda and Numismat like this.
  4. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

Ignorance... what Paul said.

Paul M. and Numismat like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's what is instilled, for lack of a better word, into the minds of many today. I saw a metal detecting video of a young couple that went digging in the woods or desert and found and old bracelet with that symbol on it and their first reaction was that they found some Nazi piece of jewelry and they were so confused as to why it was buried the way it was.. turns out it was a Native American artifact.. they used that symbol also.

spirityoda, Paul M. and Numismat like this.
  6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

It won't ever change. Folks don't understand it.

Numismat and Paul M. like this.
  7. Copper56

Copper56 Active Member

8. Andrew5

Andrew5 Member

If you have school age kids you know that we are way through the looking class. I've thought about bringing coins in to their classes but, and I'm totally serious about this, I could run into the PC Police because an ancient coin might highlight a tyrannical society or a civil war era coin "supports" slavery, etc.

9. longnine009

longnine009 Darwin has to eat too. Supporter

Hopefully they won't notice that shield nickels have "stars & bars" on them. :p

10. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member