A Most Interesting Coin

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Lincoln Cents, Nov 28, 2011.

1. Lincoln Cents

Lincoln Cents Cents not pennies

More coins 003.jpg

From the reverse, this cent appears to have stuck several times...

More coins 004.jpg
    But from the obverse, there is no evidence of multiple strikes. There are in fact these little lines that look like they were pressed into the coin. This makes me conclude that this is an altered coin, with someone pressing images on to the reverse of this coin. What do you think?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Henslac

Henslac New Member

I once saw a 64 Kennedy with two heads. :p I am not sure about this. It sure is interesting though.

4. CharlesNC

CharlesNC Member

On the reverse, the dates seem to be correct. They don't look pressed into it, and aren't reversed. I'd call it a genuine error. Just my opinion, and I'm far from an expert. Someone with much more knowledge should surely chime in shortly. Nice coin IMO.

5. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

The fact that the coin appears to be slightly bent and the date appears to be distorted lends it to a smash job. My vote is PMD.

6. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

I'd like to know more, too.
    Interesting reverse. The two dates are raised and look to be obverse strikes before the final reverse strike.
    Obverse has PMD around the "o" in god.
    Lines in obverse look like lamination.

7. rascal

rascal Well-Known Member

Lost Dutchman this one looks so obvious that I have to agree with you.a damaged coin is so easy to spot.

8. rickmp

I've always trusted and never questioned your judgement, Dutch, but I wish you'd take a second look at the reverse of this cent.