A Long Time Ago...

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Aidan_(), Dec 30, 2017.

1. Aidan_()

Aidan_() Numismatic Contributor

At a coin club far far away...

I've been meaning to post this for quite some time. Now that I've gotten some good coin pics I can! I did mention maybe once or twice how I started collecting ancient coins but not in detail or what the coins were. It started when I got curious about ancients and wandered down to the darkness of the ancients forum. A post here a post there but nothing serious. Then to my utter delight a PM by @Bing saying that he had some coins to give me. We both live in FL, not too far from each other actually, and we soon had a place and time to meet up. I offered to meet up at a coin club that I was an officer at (recording secretary). Lo and behold he showed up! We talked a little bit, he gave me four coins and he took off! (it was a surreal kinda moment) And the rest is history.

A big thank you to @Bing if he didn't show up and encouraged me in my new found interest it would of taken longer for me to turn to the Dark Side.

So here they are!

upload_2017-12-30_21-4-47.png
    Aurelian, with Vabalathus, Antioch mint
    Obv: Radiate and cuirassed bust of Aurelian right; A below
    Rev: Laureate, draped, and cuirassed bust of Vaballathus right

upload_2017-12-30_21-9-10.png
    Constantine I
    Obv: Helmeted, cuirassed bust right
    Rev: Vexillum, seated captives on each side

upload_2017-12-30_21-10-55.png
    Crispus
    Obv: Laureate head right
    Rev: Wreath, VOT X within

upload_2017-12-30_21-11-47.png
    Valens
    Obv: Diademed, draped and cuirassed bust right
    Rev: Valens dragging captive right, holding labarum

Bing, thank you for giving and for your service to this country.

-Aidan

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper