A Little Surprise

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by centsdimes, Sep 27, 2016.

1. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

I collect mainly American coins, but my uncle died and his daughter sent me 60 of his coins, 25 of which were foreign. Of the foreign coins I saw nothing remarkable. One of the coins had a hole in it, but I thought I'd check it out on the internet, anyway. When I did, my eye caught the word "gold." (The coin was tarnished and it didn't occur to me it was gold.) I've never owned a gold coin before, but now I have one with a hole in it. I figure its value (meltdown) is about $110. 1819 New Granada 1 Escudo Obv.JPG 1819 New Granada 1 Escudo Rev.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That would be your cousin.. right? o_O

4. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Not to be a downer, but that really doesn't look like gold. My first guess would be a reproduction or a formerly-plated contemporary counterfeit...?

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

6. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

Yes, that is my understanding.

7. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

I suppose one reason I posted this was to get a confirmation that it really was gold, though it hadn't really occurred to me that it wasn't, unless I had misidentified the coin. They wouldn't counterfeit a common coin like this, would they? You think it's a reproduction?

8. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

It isn't a reale?

9. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

I believe it is a one escudo of the viceroyalty of New Granada.

10. centsdimes

centsdimes Active Member

300px-Spain_1868_10_escudos_obv_Ponterio_169-12272.jpg 300px-Spain_1868_10_escudos_rev_Ponterio_169-12272.jpg

After some research, I suspect it isn't gold. I found this coin and this statement on this webpage: