A interesting question.

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Detecto92, Aug 6, 2015.

1. Detecto92

Detecto92 Well-Known Member

Say someone found a hoard of 100 one ounce gold coins, worth at least 100,000.

They take them to the local "We buy gold place".

Now here is the interesting question, what would happen if the place did not have the money to buy them?

swamp yankee likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

First, find out how much they are paying at the moment per ounce. Second, find out how much they are willing to purchase... then go to the next "We buy gold place".. repeat first 2 steps :jimlad:

EasyE418 likes this.
  4. Detecto92

My question is...is that any place that buys gold only has so much money. A mail in place would most likely sell it before the check is even written, but if someone bought a large chunk ($75k+) into a local place, what would happen if they couldn't buy it? Would they hold onto it until they could?

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Anyone who takes gold coins worth (approximately) $1K each to a "We Buy Gold" establishment is a fool!

Chris

6. Detecto92

Well ya, but this is a totally hypothetical question.

7. Dave M

Dave M Francophiliac

Most businesses, just like people, have a certain line of credit, ie borrowing power. If the deal was good enough, and the line of credit allowed, I suspect the owner of the business would borrow money to buy the gold.

swamp yankee and -jeffB like this.
  8. longnine009

longnine009 Darwin has to eat too. Supporter

They'll probably call Homeland Security.

9. Bedford

Bedford Lackey For Coin Junkies

Last edited: Aug 6, 2015
  10. cpm9ball

Well, since this is a hypothetical question, my answer would be, "Anyone who takes gold coins worth (approximately) $1K each to a "We Buy Gold" establishment is a hypothetical fool!"

Chris

11. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector