A few questions about 1923 Peace Dollar

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Scott J, Jan 17, 2021.

1. Scott J

Scott J Well-Known Member

Hi, sorry in advance for the amateur questions, I'm kind of new to this.
    I bought a few Peace and Morgans from a reputable dealer and I am not questioning their integrity, just trying to learn.
    Pictured below are two random year Peace Dollars. The first in BU and the Second in AU, no grade number.
    To help me learn would you consider the first one BU? Care to give your opinion on how you would grade it? MS-?
    Is it just me or dies the "UNITED STATES OF AMERICA" look weak on both?
    I think the AU looks better than the BU, but I'm obviously the polar opposite of an expert.
    Thanks!!
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. yakpoo

yakpoo Member

The lettering on Peace Dollars always looks weak to me. Your Unc coin looks like it has a beautiful strike...but that gash from Liberty's ear to her throat is unfortunate. That, plus the other hits, knocks it down to at least MS61 (imo).

4. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Time to find a new dealer. Those are low grade silver coins only worth the value of silver they contain. The first one has a large deep scratch that's very annoying.

Here is a graded MS-64 Oeace Dollar. Notice the difference? No wear on the hair, no deep scratches, a mint luster shine. Please learn about coins before your start buying them. Count this up as a learning experience.

Also, Peace Dollars in general have a poor strike.

Welcome to CT.
    IMG_4147.JPG IMG_4149.JPG

5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

6. Scott J

Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it!!
    The Peace Dollars were $33 and $31.
    To be fair to the dealer that gashed one may not be representative.