A dime missing clad layer?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by gotchange, Mar 3, 2015.

1. gotchange

gotchange Off I go, Happily coin-hunting everafter!

20150303_125023-1.jpg 20150303_124953-1.jpg 20150303_125221-1.jpg
    This was part of my change from tacobell today. Should I jump or not yet?
    :+) Thank you (+:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It looks like it might be, but don't jump too high. The condition is pretty bad.

Chris

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Don't jump! A picture of the Reverse side would help also. So far I think it's just environmental damage. I have dug up plenty of dimes that look like that from the beach and parks metal detecting. But that's not my final conclusion.

Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
    KurtS likes this.
  5. gotchange

Sorry I thought about the reverse and then did not follow through. Here it is, and thanks to all of you. 20150303_125002.jpg

6. gotchange

It looks better in person. dang camera. they all do dont they?

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Here are a handful of dimes and a few nickels I dug up while metal detecting. Mine look better in person also! Yours could just be environmental damage like mine are. Happens a lot with coins from the 60's and 70's.. Oxidation
    DimeDig01.jpg

coinman1234 likes this.
  8. gotchange

20150303_143030.jpg E 2015-03-03 14.39.45.jpg 2015-03-03 14.43.12.jpg I see clearly now thank you & now that I think about it the zinc cents do that very easily. If I may ask one more thing I was wondering what you made of this, if you would. I thank you very much for your time.

9. coinman1234

coinman1234 Not a Well-Known Member