90% Isopropyl Alcohol for Cleaning Coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by BenL, Dec 18, 2015.

1. BenL

BenL New Member

So I'm sure this question has been asked and answered many times...but using the search function I haven't been able to find specific answers I'm looking for. Google search is similarly not returning specific answers. I'm a novice so forgive me for clogging the forums with a simple question like this.

Is it advisable to soak coins in 90% iso alcohol to remove skin oils/fingerprints? How about to just remove "gunk" from circulated coins?

I understand that copper reacts differently than other metals, and specifically in mind I have a bunch of NIFC Kennedy halves, some of which have minor fingerprints/oils showing, and then just random circulated US coinage (all denominations) with oils/"gunk" etc. I also have a stack of BU Austrian Philharmonics, and a friend of mine fingered one up not knowing how to handle coins properly, so it now has fingerprints/oils on it. I happen to have a bottle of 90% iso alcohol in the bathroom, so I'm wondering if this stuff does the trick to remove minor stuff like what I'm describing.

Feedback much appreciated!

Edit: I will check back later for answers, not ignoring anybody :)

swamp yankee likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

It shouldn't hurt. It won't remove prints unless they're very fresh as in just a minute ago. I've even soaked coins in Everclear. If you do that, just don't drink it after. ;)

swamp yankee and jester3681 like this.
  4. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

5. NSP

NSP Well-Known Member

If it were me, I'd go with acetone because acetone's vapor pressure is a lot higher than isopropyl alcohol's, meaning acetone should evaporate off of the coin a lot faster and be easier to work with.

jester3681 likes this.
  6. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!