79'-D nickel double die Obv wow!

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by PinchApenny1982, May 19, 2017.

1. This ddobv. Stuck out at me big time. I know it's in a bit rough coin but is this coin worth holding? Or what does anyone recommend moving forward with it. Thx

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

All I see are Double Nickels with wear and tear due to circulation.

By the way.. The correct terminology is Doubled Die, not Double.. Big difference!

Quote - "Note that the proper terminology for this occurrence includes the letter 'd' at the end of the first word, hence "doubled die". The term "double die" without the first word ending in 'd' is not proper numismatic terminology." closed quote

I want to share this webpage with you -
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doubled_die

Pocket_change likes this.
  4. Duly noted thx. But you don't see how more fat the letters and numbers are compared to the other same year coin? I put them together to easily see the difference that's all

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

The different width of the letters is obvious., but that is not any kind of "doubling".
    It usualy is from being hit with other coins and keys and everything else carried in a pocket. The blob of a mintmark is a telltail sign. And some thick design/lettering
    is caused by "Late Stage Die", "Die Deteriation".
    Compare how many dents are on each coin.

Oldhoopster likes this.
  6. Krd046

Krd046 Active Member

Man can't you let it go? your always out to make someone look bad. Just a small mention of it is fine. Geeze.

brokecoinguy likes this.
  7. paddyman98

No. Don't tell me what to do. I am educating people. If you don't like it that's to bad. If it were wrong I think the moderators would have told me something long ago. But I'm not doing anything wrong.