50p error coin or not ?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by justyn p, May 26, 2021.

1. justyn p

justyn p Active Member

the attached image is if a 1997 GB 50p with what appears to have an error the F looks like it’s been overstamped with a Y or damaged when minted there’s also a gouge on the reverse side ?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

The letter took a hit during circulation. Reverse looks like post mint damage also.
    Definitely Damaged. Not overstruck. Not a mint error of any kind.

Last edited: May 26, 2021
    Oldhoopster and GH#75 like this.
  4. PamR

PamR You Never Know! Supporter

Hi just to start off before others comment. It does look like damage but posting the whole coin, diverse and reverse would be best as well.

justyn p and Mountain Man like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I aready commented.. It's just circulation damage.

And you mean Obverse.. Not Diverse ;)

6. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

:oops:. Ooops . You said over stamped also. The proper word should be Over " struck" not stamped . Paper money is stamped I guess you could say . :rolleyes:

7. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter

Welcome to Coin Talk @justyn p. Hope things in the UK are going well for you.
    As mentioned above, it appears to be PMD, Post Mint Damage, probably just from circulation. Seeing a Full Image photo of the obverse and reverse would probably cinch that.
    Here is something I often post for new members. Hope it helps.