$50 coin worth a dollar?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by BronzeAge, Apr 15, 2021.

1. BronzeAge

BronzeAge Member

capthank likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Who said they are worth that much?
    They are no longer in use and cannot be exchanged. I have tons of those denomitized coins and they are worthless.

You can't go by the exchange rate on coins no longer in circulation.

Maybe a very small premium for collectors of old foreign coins.

4. BronzeAge

BronzeAge Member

Thats weird. I thought Mexico was still using the peso.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

But not those old coins.

Use Numista to see their new coins
    Capture+_2021-04-15-05-59-48.png

john65999 and BronzeAge like this.
  6. John Burgess

John Burgess Well-Known Member

On january 1 1993 Mexico switched to the new peso. This is where the problem is. Those coins are old pesos.

It's a different valuation system.
    When the system was reformed they removed 3 zeros, so the 1989 1000 peso coin is equal to 1 current peso or approximately 5 -10 cents depending on the exchange rate on any given day.

The new peso version of the $1000 peso is worth about $50 in exchange.

john65999 and paddyman98 like this.
  7. BronzeAge

BronzeAge Member

OK, thanks. I just did a search and read that the outgoing president of Mexico took half the country's money and left, so the new President demonitjzed all their money! That had to hurt everyone.

8. clembo

clembo A closed mind is no mind

We used to put these in a cigar box at the shop and sell them for 10 cents.

On the bright side Mexico does mint some beautiful coins.

BronzeAge and paddyman98 like this.
  9. derkerlegand

derkerlegand Well-Known Member