$5 Gold Indians, getting braver

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by RyanL, May 21, 2016.

1. RyanL

RyanL New Member

I just bought this 1909s $5 Indian in XF40 for $455.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1909-S-G-5-...469188?hash=item2a681eb484:g:EvYAAOSwZetXO0Zn

I really like the design, and I've been eyballing them for a couple months. My awesome LCS tells me that MS62+ is the way to go, but this was a tougher date, it looked good and it seemed WAY underpriced. Between greysheet, PCGS, Numismedia etc. I came to the conclusion that this coin should go for about $535 retail. Problem is, I can't find any history on auctions for this over the last year.

I enjoy the hobby immensely. I am putting together a set of Barber halves in fine (well over half done) and like nice looking seated and bust halves as well. I buy quite a bit of 90% "junk" US silver coins for bullion and the occasional modern gold eagle.

I said all this to ask - is there room in the hobby to go for a balance between numismatic and bullion value? Is it better to either buy a coin only for it's rarity, or only it's bullion value? I ask because this has to be a consideration for me. This is part of my retirement plan so I plan on selling one day, but in the meantime, it's a very interesting hobby. "Hobvesting" if you will. I have to take this into consideration because it's my wife's money too and she doesn't necessarily understand when I spend $20 on a Lincoln cent for my collection, but she has seen me profit so she has given me more wings lately.

Last edited: May 21, 2016
    Seattlite86 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

First, there's no reason for you to have to expend effort looking all around for auction results:

http://www.pcgs.com/auctionprices/default.aspx