29 Ancients in olive oil...Liberated! Now what?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by wlwhittier, May 2, 2013.

1. wlwhittier

wlwhittier Peripheral Member

P1080254.jpg P1080255.jpg

There were two wee jars, each with about half of these coins immersed in olive oil. The oil was deep yellow, and contained many bits and pieces of dirt. corrosion, etc. The lot was $100.

P1080256.jpg P1080257.jpg

I have only removed them from the oil and mopped them dry, perfunctorily. I'm gonna guess the next step, but will wait to hear from those of you with deep and satisfactory experience in such matters before pressing on.

My guess is individual, repeated & brief acetone dips/baths, allowing time to dry between...I invite your collective counsel.

Anyone see anything worthy of first effort? Or anything else of particular note? Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. chrsmat71

chrsmat71 I LIKE TURTLES!

i see several interesting coins there. i'm not an expert, but i don't really know how to proceed here...i don't see much dirt. the two on the top right in the first pic for example may have some stuff that is removable. start with probing with a toothpick or needle and see if anything yields. i think most are probably not going to clean up much more.

4. wlwhittier

From what I can see so far, I am in cautious agreement with you.

I'll say that I'm not afraid to be gently aggressive with some of these...What I would really like is for someone to say: "Leave that one and that other one alone, 'cause you might have something."

Better pics can be taken of any of them, or select groups...I'm quite willing to bring these into better viewing condition wit' me trusty pinhole; just ask.

Thanks!

5. John Anthony

John Anthony Ultracrepidarian

It's a lot of corroded junk. I'm sorry to be so blunt, but your hundred dollars would have been better spent on a couple of well-preserved coins - they would have given you much more satisfaction.

6. wlwhittier