2023 P Quarter

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Bcrabtree27, Apr 12, 2024.

1. Bcrabtree27

Bcrabtree27 New Member

Hello, I am still new to the coin world and am having trouble identifying errors. I found 3 2023 P Elanor Roosevelt quarters today and noticed this one is different. I cannot find anything on the 2023 coins online. Is this a Double Strike, Doubled die error or just die deterioration? Any links or info would be greatly appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. The Half Dime

The Half Dime Arrows!

It looks like the coin has been struck twice. The doubling is not very pronounced like on other doubled die coins, and machine doubling, like the one above, occurs so often that many don't even consider it a mint error. They are quite cool, though, in my opinion.

4. Bcrabtree27

Bcrabtree27 New Member

Thanks. Actually one of the other quarters I found with this one is similar. You can see slight doubling on the letters but looks more like die deterioration. I also thought it looked like a Double Strike. First double anything I've found so it'll go in the new collection! Thank you.

5. Bcrabtree27

Bcrabtree27 New Member

Here is a couple pictures from the other 2023 P Quarter.

Attached Files:

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's just die Deterioration Doubling.
    Worthless doubling found on thousands of other coins.

7. Kevin Mader

Kevin Mader Fellow Coin Enthusiast Supporter

Tip: one way to determine if there is machine damage, view the device at a “higher” level. Trace the periphery of a device. Is the area of interest thicker? Thinner? Thickness might suggest doubling. Thinning suggests deterioration or machine damage. What happens often is the device has distortion caused by one or the other, or both. That’s what I see in your specimen. Evidence of die wash and the shelflike appearance in the ‘thinner’ section of the device.