2022 D Penny DDO/DDR or MD?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by JonnyOnTheSpotAZ1, Jan 26, 2023.

1. JonnyOnTheSpotAZ1

JonnyOnTheSpotAZ1 New Member

Came across this penny today and not 100% sure what the deal is. Would love some opinions and thoughts on this. I have my thoughts but am conflicted as I'm no expert my any means. It seems to me to have true hub doubling from pics and info I've seen and read, including from this forum. Thanks in advance. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

SensibleSal66 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

Machine doubling ( AKA, strike and Mechanical doubling) Machine_Doubling_MD-Graphic_2.jpg

4. MeowtheKitty

MeowtheKitty Well-Known Member

It looks like something to Meow. The twos have split points. But a shiny coin can reflect its own devices in the field making it look like doubling. So it is hard to say.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It's not a Doubled die.

SensibleSal66 likes this.
  6. JonnyOnTheSpotAZ1

Screenshot_20230126_043129_Chrome.jpg 20230125_175120.jpg

Greatly appreciate everyone's input. Can someone give me a little more clarification regarding this. I guess I'm having a hard time deciphering between the 2 as I see my 0 being more similar to the DD in the first pic as opposed the MD in the first pic? Thanks again everyone.

7. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

The photos aren't good enough to show what the details look like. If you look at all the doubling on your coin, it all goes towards the rim. This is classic DDD, of course there can be MD in the mix, but it shows nothing like a Doubled die.

Spark1951 likes this.
  8. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter