2019 San Antionio Missions Quarter Doubling?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by orionisopen, Nov 15, 2019.

1. orionisopen

orionisopen New Member

Found this in pocket change. I'm still learning about the different kinds of doubling and need some input on this one. There is what appears to machine or "shelf" doubling in most of the obverse lettered devices, but Liberty seems to be a double tap rather than caused merely by vibration. The L, I, B, and E have two distinct upper left corners. If it were merely shelf or machine doubling, wouldn't the corners be indistinguishable and blended since the metal would just be pushed over some? I don't see how two distinct corners on each letter could be produced unless the die actually hit the planchet twice, which would be true doubling, correct? Or am I missing something? Forgive my ignorance.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That Looks Like die deterioration doubling.

Not a doubled die

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A true Doubled die is 1 strike with a Die that is doubled. That's what it's called a Doubled Die

Some info -
    https://doubleddie.com/58222.html

You must understand what occurs before you Start searching!

orionisopen and ldhair like this.
  5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

The doubling occurs when the working hub is transferring the devices to the working die, not from the working die to the planchet.

Chris

orionisopen likes this.
  6. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

NAV or no added value doubling.

Welcome to CT.

orionisopen likes this.
  7. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity