2018 P diamond ring behind shield

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by MatrixMP-9, Feb 1, 2019.

1. MatrixMP-9

MatrixMP-9 Well-Known Member

I had a bunch of penny rolls that I think were not circulated from Loomis. I broke a few open awhile ago and found some with the identical die cracks which was kind of cool. I opened another one and found the oddest die crack or error or whatever it is. Its showing up exactly the same on about 5 different pennies. It looks like a diamond ring sitting half behind the shield. Is this from a die crack? Is it normal for the crack to be so "circular" like this? I took a picture of a few in the group. I guess it makes sense if the die is broken of somehow has a defect, that defect will transfer to each coin thats minted with that die right?

184.jpg 185.jpg 181.jpg 182.jpg 183.jpg 186.jpg 187.jpg

Peter T Davis likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes.. some kind of defect occurred on that particular Die.. So it will show up on the other Cents.

4. MatrixMP-9

Thanks Paddyman. I havent been doing this long, is this common like this?

5. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

Die crack depression. Have seen a lot of these on the ATB quarters. Usually it starts out as just a depression but if you can find others of the same you will see the die crack beginning and progressing. Eventually there ends up being a die chip as it goes along. I bought several bags of the Homestead quarters and was able to watch the progression.

cpm9ball likes this.
  6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER